View your shopping cart.

Tradebooks

A GUIDE TO NORTH CAROLINA'S FRESHWATER FISHES

A GUIDE TO NORTH CAROLINA'S FRESHWATER FISHES

$35.00
More Info
More than 250 species of freshwater fishes live in North Carolina waters, making identification a challenge. Thanks to this comprehensive guide, anyone will be able to accurately identify any fish found in North Carolina--and better appreciate the diversity and beauty of fishes within the state.

Inside the book:

* Detailed identification keys based on essential species markers
* 546 full-color images for clear identification of species markers
* 260 maps showing species distribution throughout the state
* Information on the freshwater fish families and ichthyological history of North Carolina
* An appendix that explains the meanings behind the scientific names

This is the must-have reference for nature lovers and anglers in North Carolina and beyond.











A HISTORY LOVER'S GUIDE TO NORTH CAROLINA

A HISTORY LOVER'S GUIDE TO NORTH CAROLINA

$23.99
More Info

Tour the Old North State's famous--and not-so-famous--historic sites.

First in Freedom, First in Flight, and First, Farthest and Last are all honorifics that have been used to describe North Carolina's well-known history. Learn the truth behind each of these epithets and other tales from the sands of the Outer Banks to the bustling cities of the Piedmont and the western mountains. Tour the state's famous historic homes, gardens and cemeteries. Dive deep into its military conflicts, from the golden age of piracy to the Second World War.

Join North Carolina's veteran historian, Michael C. Hardy, for an exploration of the many sites, monuments, museums, and public spaces that tell story of North Carolina's history.

A HISTORY OF HONEY IN GEORGIA AND THE CAROLINAS

A HISTORY OF HONEY IN GEORGIA AND THE CAROLINAS

$19.99
More Info
In the late 1800s, Georgia and the Carolinas produced millions of pounds of honey and created a lasting legacy within the industry. The uses for the sweet nectar go well beyond flavor. Bee pollination extensively benefits agricultural crops in the area. Elements from the beehive are commonly used in popular cosmetics, medicines and mead. Beekeepers also face serious challenges like Colony Collapse Disorder. Join author and beekeeper April Aldrich as she traces the delectable history of honey and beekeeping throughout the region, from ancient apiaries to modern meaderies and beyond.
A POPULAR HISTORY OF WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA: MOUNTAINS, HEROES, & HOOTNOGGERS

A POPULAR HISTORY OF WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA: MOUNTAINS, HEROES, & HOOTNOGGERS

$19.99
More Info

The ancient hills of Western North Carolina have cradled a culture that encompasses Cherokee heritage, pioneer legacies and urban visions.


For those who visit and those who make the region their home, there is something captivating about the mountains of Western North Carolina. We meet Lillian Exum Clement, the first female legislator in the South; and Nina Simone, the African American singing prodigy from Tryon. We get to view controversial elements of the Civil War in Western North Carolina from multiple points of view and draw our own conclusions. We comprehend the variety of people who have created the region as it exists now--alive with traditions, contradictions and promise.

Instead of merely reciting historical fact, and with a warm, accessible style, Asheville Citizen Times writer Rob Neufeld helps readers understand the history of the mountains by allowing us to walk in the shoes of the Native Americans, farmers, soldiers and others who preceded us. More than an enlightening read, this book illuminates the progression of frontier life that we have come to know as Western North Carolina history. By linking the lives and experiences of the land's various inhabitants, Neufeld captures the spirit of Appalachia within this volume.

A WOLF CALLED WANDER

A WOLF CALLED WANDER

$7.99
More Info

A New York Times bestseller! "Don't miss this dazzling tour de force."--Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf's incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan.

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable one thousand miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites readers to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson's Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate's Endling.

Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout and a map as well as information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Plus don't miss Rosanne Parry's stand-alone companion novel, A Whale of the Wild.

AMERICAN HERITAGE ESL DICT (P)

AMERICAN HERITAGE ESL DICT (P)

$17.37
More Info
Provides a word list and definitions; a simple alphabetic pronunication system; sample sentences and phrases; homonyms, synonyms, prefixes, and suffixes; and grammar information.
APPALACHIAN TRAIL GUIDE TO TENNESSEE - NORTH CAROLINA

APPALACHIAN TRAIL GUIDE TO TENNESSEE - NORTH CAROLINA

$29.95
More Info

The official guide to 302 miles of the Appalachian Trail, from Damascus, Va., near the Tennessee line south to the southern end of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park at Fontana Dam, N.C. The six detached maps (three sheets) included in the packet are water- and tear-resistant in seven colors at a scale of an inch to a mile, with elevation profiles. This area includes the spectacular southern balds, the majestic Highlands of Roan, and Cherokee National Forest, as well as the most-visited of the traditional national parks. The book includes detailed trail descriptions as well as thorough background information on towns, archival photographs, historical sites, and geology.

Vic Hasler (northeastern Tennessee), Leonard Bernstein (east-central Tennessee and parts of North Carolina), and Richard Ketelle (Smokies) are longtime, active volunteers with their respective Appalachian Trail clubs, who know the sections best because they help maintain them.

AT HOME IN MITFORD (TRADE ED) (P)

AT HOME IN MITFORD (TRADE ED) (P)

$17.99
More Info
The first novel in #1 New York Times bestselling author Jan Karon's beloved series set in America's favorite small town: Mitford.

It's easy to feel at home in Mitford. In these high, green hills, the air is pure, the village is charming, and the people are generally lovable. Yet, Father Tim, the bachelor rector, wants something more. Enter a dog the size of a sofa who moves in and won't go away. Add an attractive neighbor who begins wearing a path through the hedge. Now, stir in a lovable but unloved boy, a mystifying jewel theft, and a secret that's sixty years old. Suddenly, Father Tim gets more than he bargained for. And readers get a rich comedy about ordinary people and their ordinary lives.

BEST OF THE APPALACHIAN TRAIL: OVERNIGHT HIKES

BEST OF THE APPALACHIAN TRAIL: OVERNIGHT HIKES

$18.95
More Info

This fully updated guidebook presents 64 overnight hikes throughout the 14 states of the Appalachian Trail, from 10 to 30 miles in length.

BOOK LOVERS

BOOK LOVERS

$17.00
More Info
"One of my favorite authors."--Colleen Hoover

An insightful, delightful, instant #1 New York Times bestseller from the author of Beach Read and People We Meet on Vacation.

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by Oprah Daily ∙ Today ∙ ParadeMarie Claire ∙ Bustle ∙ PopSugar ∙ Katie Couric Media ∙ Book Bub ∙ SheReads ∙ Medium ∙ The Washington Post ∙ and more!

One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn't see coming...

Nora Stephens' life is books--she's read them all--and she is not that type of heroine. Not the plucky one, not the laidback dream girl, and especially not the sweetheart. In fact, the only people Nora is a heroine for are her clients, for whom she lands enormous deals as a cutthroat literary agent, and her beloved little sister Libby.

Which is why she agrees to go to Sunshine Falls, North Carolina for the month of August when Libby begs her for a sisters' trip away--with visions of a small town transformation for Nora, who she's convinced needs to become the heroine in her own story. But instead of picnics in meadows, or run-ins with a handsome country doctor or bulging-forearmed bartender, Nora keeps bumping into Charlie Lastra, a bookish brooding editor from back in the city. It would be a meet-cute if not for the fact that they've met many times and it's never been cute.

If Nora knows she's not an ideal heroine, Charlie knows he's nobody's hero, but as they are thrown together again and again--in a series of coincidences no editor worth their salt would allow--what they discover might just unravel the carefully crafted stories they've written about themselves.